The World Car Awards is an annual awards ceremony whose top prize is to be awarded the prestigious Car of the Year Award. The winner is selected by a panel of international journalists from over 20 countries. To be entered into the awards, a car must be sold in a minimum of five countries on at least two continents before the 1 January of the year that the awards take place. The ceremony has been running since 2004. (Awards for performance, car design, and green cars have also been awarded since 2006.) As the award is now in its tenth year, we have decided to write a blog about the Car of the Year winners over the past decade.

Audi A6

2005: Audi A6

In 2005 the Audi A6 was awarded the honour of Car of the Year.​

BMW 3-Series

2006: BMW 3-Series

The BMW 3-Series was awarded Car of the Year in 2006.


2007: Lexus LS 460

2007 saw the award go to the Lexus LS 460.

Mazda 2

2008: Mazda 2

Not as big and bold as the winners before it, the Mazda 2 was awarded Car of the Year in 2008.

Volkswagen Golf

2009: Volkswagen Golf

The Volkswagen Golf was awarded car of the year in 2009.

Volkswagen Polo

2010: Volkswagen Polo

Another successful year for Volkswagen, their Volkswagen Polo model won the award in 2010.

Nissan Leaf

2011: Nissan Leaf

Volkswagen lost their crown in 2011 to the Nissan Leaf, another small but highly efficient car.

Volkswagen Up

2012: Volkswagen Up!

The Volkswagen Up! won the award in 2012.

2013 Volkswagen Golf

2013: Volkswagen Golf

Retaining their crown, Volkswagen were given the award again in 2013 this time for the Volkswagen Golf.

Audi A3

2014: Audi A3

Finally getting back the crown that they won in its first year, 2014 has given the Audi A3 the honour of Car of the Year.